Prof. Amr M.E. Safwat

Dean of School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Faculty Office Ext.


Faculty Building

UB 2

Office Number



Amr M. E. Safwat received a B.Sc. and M.Sc. in electronics and communication engineering from Ain Shams University in 1993 and 1997, respectively, a B.Sc. in Accounting from Ain Shams University in 1997, and a Ph.D. in electrical engineering from the University of Maryland, College Park, in 2001. From Aug. 2001 to Aug. 2002, he was with Cascade Microtech Inc, Beaverton, Oregon.

In Aug. 2002, he joined the Electronics and Communication Engineering Department at Ain Shams University, where he is currently a full professor. He served as the electronics and electrical communication Dept. chair from March 2018 to August 2022. In. Nov. 2016, he joined the Information Technology Industry Development Agency (ITIDA) as the manager of the Information Technology Academia Collaboration (ITAC) dept. In September 2022, he joined Nile University as the Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences.

Dr. Safwat was a visiting professor at the Otto-Von-Guericke University, Magdeburg, Germany (Sept. 04-Nov. 04), the “Institut National Polytechnique de Grenoble,” Grenoble, France (Sept. 05- Nov. 05), and the Radio Laboratory and MilliLab, Helsinki University of Technology, Finland (Jul. 06-Jun. 07). He has 8 US patents and more than 100 international journal and conference papers.

Dr. Safwat was awarded the Egyptian encouragement state prize for engineering sciences twice, in 2007 and 2014, and the first class medal of excellence in 2017. His research interests include metamaterial, microwave passive planar structures, compact-size antennas, and microwave photonics.

  • State-encouragement Award for engineering sciences in 2014 and 2007 by the Ministry of scientific research - Academy of Scientific Research and Technology.
  • Scientific Publication Award for physical sciences in 2013.
  • First-class Medal of Excellence conferred by the President of the Arab Republic of Egypt in August 2017.
Research Tracks
  • Microwave Circuits
  • Metamaterials